Interest in school board leads Moore County primary ballot

CARTHAGE — Races for four of the five seats on the Moore County School Board will be narrowed down by voters on March 5.

Filing for 2024 took place last month and candidates for this year’s primaries have just under two months to make their case to voters. The four school board races are nonpartisan and the top two vote-getters will move to the November general election.

In District I, four candidates are on the ballot: Amy Dahl, Kevin Lewis, Oscar Romine and Jim Boyte.

The current board member, Stacey Caldwell, did not file for reelection to the seat.

In District II, incumbent board chairman Robert Levy has two challengers, Emily Davis and Steve Johnson.

District IV, currently represented by David Hensley, has three opponents: Kellie Davis, Kaylin Boin and Ellie Collins.

Finally, in District V, incumbent Philip Holmes faced a pair of challengers, Don Zawlocki and Robin Calcutt. Calcutt unsuccessfully ran for an at-large seat in 2022 on the board.

Two seats on the Moore County Board of Commissioners are on the ballot this year.

District II’s board member, board chair Nick Picerno, a Republican, is unopposed in both the primary and general election.

In District IV, the Republican primary winner will also face no opposition in November. The contest is between Republicans Steve Adams and Tom Adams.

The current board member, Frank Quis, is not running for reelection after serving two terms including three years as the board’s chair.

Seats for the N.C. House and N.C. Senate will be contested in November with all four Moore County Republican incumbents: Tom McInnis (Senate), John Sauls (House), Ben Moss (House) and Neal Jackson (House) facing Democratic challengers.

In addition, Moore County’s current district attorney, Republican Mike Hardin, is unopposed for a second term.

By North State Journal Staff

Related Posts

No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.