Causey wins main event in Caraway season finale

SOPHIA – Gary Causey led the entire race to win the Late Models feature Sunday in Russell Hackett’s 35th annual Thanksgiving Classic at Caraway Speedway.

Causey, a former track champion, was on the pole for the 75-lap race. He was followed at the start by former track champions Tommy Neal, Boo Boo Dalton and Donnie Apple.

Causey fended off all challengers. Neal, despite a flat tire during the race, came back to claim second place. Dalton was third and Tony Black finished fourth. They were followed by Eric Wallace, Casey Kepley Jr., Brian Rose, D.J. Dean, Corey Rose and Kirk Sheets in the top 10.

This was the final scheduled racing date for 2021 at the speedway.

In the Street Stocks, Bobby Tumbleston was the winner of the 50-lap event. Jeff Melton was second and ex-track champion Gary Ledbetter Jr. ended up third with Cody Demarbles in fourth and Mike Pollack in fifth.

In Mini Stocks, Luke Smith captured the 50-lap race, which was dubbed the Archie Sanders Memorial. A.J. Sanders placed second in the race that was named after his grandfather.

Patrick Mullen took third, with Levi Holt and Kenny Dixon in the next two spots.

In the special 11-lap Archie Sanders Dash, the winner was Patrick Mullen, who was ahead of Brandon Crotts. This was for drivers who’ve yet to win a feature event.

In U-Cars, Daniel Hughes took the top spot ahead of Gary Dillard and Scott Haller.

The Enduro event was won by Jimmy Crigger, who was in front of runner-up Tyler Murphy third-place Sammy Bullins in the 24-car field.

By Randolph Record

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.